Exchanges · Explainer
Kraken Withdrawal Hold: How Long It Lasts and How to Check It
A Kraken hold on a purchase locks an amount equal to it, not your whole balance. See which hold fits your payment method and how long it lasts.
- Author
- How2BuyCrypto Editorial
- Last updated
- Updated
- Reading time
- 6 min read
Written with AISources checked How our guides are made
At a glance
- A hold on a purchase covers an amount equal to it, not your whole balance, and you can keep trading while it runs.
- Find your payment method in the table to see whether a 72-hour or 7-day hold can apply.
- Open the tooltip on the withdrawal screen to see any hold on your account.
- Kraken Support cannot release a time-based hold early, so treat any offer to speed it up as a scam red flag.
On this page8 sections
A Kraken withdrawal hold on a purchase stops you sending out an amount equal to it, for a time that depends on how you paid. You can keep trading, and the rest of your balance is not locked; a password change works differently and holds withdrawals to new addresses for up to 24 hours. If you need help while a hold runs, use the Support tab inside the app and not a number found online (see the warning on fake support).
This article follows Kraken's help pages (opens in a new tab) as they read on 12 October 2026. No account was opened and no purchase was tested.
Credited, tradeable and withdrawable are different states
A withdrawal hold acts on the third of these states:
- Credited: the deposit or purchase shows in your balance.
- Tradeable: you can use it to buy or sell on the exchange.
- Withdrawable: you can send it off the exchange or to your bank.
As of October 2026, Kraken says (opens in a new tab) the held amount equals the amount of the purchase, not your whole account balance. Funds stay available for trading during hold periods.
For USD deposits by ACH through Plaid, Kraken says (opens in a new tab) the money can be traded at once but is held for seven days. In that case the amount you can withdraw is your total spot balance minus the part under the hold. For other routes, read the hold on your own account as described in how to see your hold.
Kraken 72 hour hold and 7 day hold by funding route
As of October 2026, from Kraken's help article (opens in a new tab). Kraken says it applies holds to deposited funds, or after certain account actions, for security reasons.
| Route | Scope | Hold | What is held |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instant card, Apple Pay or Google Pay buys | No country given | Can be 72 hours | The purchase amount |
| Card or wallet deposits | USD | 72 hours, per card or method | A new card added to a wallet can start a new 72 hours |
| PayPal deposits | USD, EUR, GBP, AUD | Can be 72 hours | USD: each deposit; not stated for the others |
| ACH via Plaid | US | 7 days | Cash or crypto equal to the purchase |
| Recurring SEPA Direct Debit buys | EU/EEA | 7 days | Purchase amount; can affect fiat and crypto |
| Third-party fiat transfers in the Krak app | No country given | Can be 72 hours | Not stated |
| Password change | No country given | Up to 24 hours | Only new withdrawal addresses |
| Deposits from certain banks | No country given | Length not stated | Not stated |
Whether a 72-hour hold applies to a card, wallet or PayPal purchase can vary with factors such as your account history and activity. So one buyer may get a hold and another may not. Addresses you already added are not affected by the password-change hold.
Kraken's deposit page (opens in a new tab) lists no hold for the bank transfer routes in the country list below. Its hold article adds that deposits from certain banks can still be held, without naming them. The same deposit page lists a 72-hour hold for PayPal deposits in USD, EUR, GBP and AUD. Check the tooltip after your first deposit on any route.
For how payment methods compare across exchanges, see how payment methods compare. For deposit and card charges, see card and deposit fees.
Kraken deposit time and hold by country
As of October 2026, Kraken's deposit page (opens in a new tab) lists these processing times and no hold for the bank routes named. Processing time shows when money arrives, not when it can leave.
- United States: ACH via Plaid is listed as nearly instant, US only, and tradeable at once, with the 7-day hold above. FedWire is listed at 0-1 business days, with no hold.
- United Kingdom: Faster Payments is listed at 0-1 business days, with no hold. For GBP, a first deposit may take 1 to 3 business days to be credited.
- EU and EEA: SEPA and SEPA Instant are listed at 0-3 business days or instant, with no hold.
- Canada: Interac e-Transfer is listed at 0-1 business days or instant, and a domestic wire at 1-5 business days, both with no hold.
- Australia: PayID is listed as nearly instant. A bank transfer is 0-2 business days, nearly instant with Osko. Neither has a hold listed.
Elsewhere, choose your local currency on Kraken's deposit page and check your own financial regulator before you deposit. Fees can vary by the country you registered in. In the US, Kraken does not offer services (opens in a new tab) to residents of Maine and New York. To see which Kraken company serves your country, read Kraken's availability by country.
How to see your hold and when it ends
During a withdrawal, click the tooltip icon on the withdrawal screen. Kraken says (opens in a new tab) it shows a breakdown of your available balance, your funding limits and any withdrawal holds. Kraken does not say the tooltip shows when the hold ends. The table gives the lengths Kraken states; a purchase made with the same card or method while a 72-hour hold is already running is released when that same window ends.
You can also ask Kraken's chatbot. Log in and type "I can't withdraw."
If no hold shows, check your open orders. Kraken says (opens in a new tab) funds in open or pending orders cannot be withdrawn, so an order can look like a hold.
Ask support if the tooltip shows a hold you cannot explain from the table, not for an earlier release.
Kraken says (opens in a new tab) that with a withdrawal hold you may see a "Balance is insufficient for a withdrawal" error, or the withdrawal page may say your funds are "Withheld" or that withdrawals are blocked. A crypto withdrawal you already submitted can instead show the status On hold. Kraken's status list (opens in a new tab) says that means the withdrawal has been held and has to be manually checked by its support staff, so it is a review and not one of the time-based holds above. Contact Support, and see what to do when a withdrawal is pending or has not arrived.
Example with made-up numbers
The amounts below are made up. On day 1 you add $100 by a bank transfer route with no hold listed, and buy $100 of Coin X with a card.
- Day 1: you can trade both amounts. You can withdraw the bank-funded $100, but not an amount equal to the card purchase if a 72-hour hold applies.
- Day 4: once the 72 hours have passed, the card-funded amount can leave too.
Check the tooltip on day 1 to see which of your amounts is held and which is not.
Risks around withdrawal holds
- Fake support. Kraken advises (opens in a new tab) you not to use search engines to find its support number or website; bookmark support.kraken.com instead.
- Fee to unlock. A request to pay a tax, fee or commission to withdraw your money is a red flag Kraken lists. The FTC warns (opens in a new tab) that in crypto investment scams you cannot withdraw at all, or only if you pay high fees, and that scammers impersonate well-known companies. Read more in impersonation scams.
- Changing rules. The lengths, routes and triggers above come from help pages that Kraken updates, and a hold depends on your account. Check the tooltip, not this page, before you plan around a date.
Before you send crypto out after a hold ends, read how to send crypto to your own wallet. To compare exchanges, see how to choose an exchange.
Frequently asked questions
Does a second purchase with the same card restart the hold?
No. Kraken says cash purchases made during a 72-hour hold window are also held, but only for the rest of that same 72 hours. The window does not start again. Check the tooltip on the withdrawal screen to see what is held on your account.
Can I withdraw cash to my bank while my crypto is held?
Not the held amount. For ACH via Plaid (US), Kraken says the hold applies to cash or crypto equal to the purchase amount, so selling the coin does not free it. For recurring SEPA Direct Debit buys (EU/EEA), the hold can affect both fiat and crypto withdrawals.
Does changing my 2FA stop Kraken withdrawals?
Kraken's hold article does not list a 2FA change as a trigger. It lists a password change, which holds withdrawals to new addresses for up to 24 hours (see the table above). That is not a promise that a 2FA change never matters, so open the tooltip on the withdrawal screen before you rely on being able to send.
Sources
- Why is there a withdrawal hold on my account?, Kraken (Payward). Accessed .
- Unable to withdraw funds, Kraken (Payward). Accessed .
- Cryptocurrency withdrawal statuses, Kraken (Payward). Accessed .
- Cash deposit options: fees, minimums and processing times, Kraken (Payward). Accessed .
- Where is Kraken licensed or regulated?, Kraken (Payward). Accessed .
- How to contact Voice Support, Kraken (Payward). Accessed .
- Protect yourself from scams, Kraken (Payward). Accessed .
- What To Know About Cryptocurrency and Scams, US Federal Trade Commission. Accessed .
This guide was researched and written with AI using the sources above. It is general information, not financial advice. Cryptoassets are volatile and you could lose the money you invest. Check the rules in your country before you buy. Some links on this site may be affiliate links; they never change what we write. Spotted an error? Email contact@how2buycrypto.org.