Buying · Explainer
Debit Card vs Bank Transfer for Buying Crypto: Costs, Holds and Trade-Offs
Compare debit card vs bank transfer for crypto: deposit fees, withdrawal holds, limits and dispute rights, with dated examples from platforms' own pages.
- Author
- How2BuyCrypto Editorial
- Last updated
- Updated
- Reading time
- 9 min read
Written with AISources checked How our guides are made
At a glance
- Compare both methods on the total you pay, not the headline fee: the deposit fee, your bank or card issuer's fee, and the trading fee.
- A deposit that arrives instantly can still be held before you can withdraw. Find the hold on the deposit screen before you confirm.
- Card payments can have a dispute route and bank transfers may not, but neither is guaranteed. Crypto you send out typically cannot be reversed.
- Check your bank's policy on crypto payments before you deposit. A bank may limit or stop them.
On this page11 sections
On the platforms checked in October 2026, a debit card deposit is near-instant and costs a percentage, while a bank transfer carries no platform fee and can take from instant to a few business days. Either route can come with a wait before you can withdraw, so find that wait on the deposit screen before you confirm if you plan to move coins soon.
How each method works
There are two common cryptocurrency payment methods for adding money. If you buy crypto with a debit card, you enter the card (or use Apple Pay or Google Pay) to add money to your account balance, then place the order. A bank transfer sends money from your bank into the same kind of balance.
The bank route goes by different names by country, and the steps for paying in are in how to buy crypto with a bank transfer. Your platform's deposit screen lists the routes it accepts for your country.
A hold is a waiting period before you can withdraw money, or crypto bought with it, from the platform. Holds are covered in when you can buy and when the crypto can leave.
What each method costs
Crypto exchange card fees and bank-transfer fees are separate from the cost of the purchase itself. Read the fee page and the deposit screen before you pick a method, then the order screen before you confirm.
- Card deposit fee: a percentage of the amount you deposit, charged by the platform when you add money. Rates from some platforms are in the country table.
- Card issuer fee: Crypto.com notes (opens in a new tab) that your card issuer may charge additional fees on top of the platform's. After you deposit, compare your card statement with the amount the deposit screen showed. If the statement is higher, ask your issuer.
- Bank transfer fee: some platforms charge nothing for a bank deposit, but your bank may. As of October 2026, Crypto.com says (opens in a new tab) this for US ACH deposits. Check your bank's fee list for outgoing transfers.
- Trading fee and spread: you pay these on the purchase whichever method you used. How crypto exchange fees work explains both.
- Currency conversion: if you pay in another currency, look for a conversion charge on the deposit or order screen.
A fixed fee takes a larger share of a small purchase, while a percentage fee takes the same share of any size.
Example with made-up numbers
The amounts and fees below are made up, Coin X and its price are invented, and your platform may label and group these amounts differently.
Paying by card:
- You deposit $100 by card. A 2% deposit fee ($2) is taken, so $98 arrives.
- You place an order. A $1 trading fee is taken, leaving $97 to spend.
- The price per coin shown on the buy screen is $2.00, so $97 buys 48.5 Coin X.
- You paid $100 in total for 48.5 Coin X: about $2.06 per coin, against the $2.00 shown.
Paying by bank transfer:
- You deposit $100 by bank transfer with no deposit fee, so $100 arrives.
- The same $1 trading fee leaves $99, which buys 49.5 Coin X at $2.00.
- You paid $100 in total for 49.5 Coin X: about $2.02 per coin, against the $2.00 shown.
Also made up: the platform holds coins bought with either deposit for 7 days, so you could withdraw 7 days after depositing by card or by bank. Holds depend on the platform and the method, so check yours.
When you can buy and when the crypto can leave
As of October 2026, these examples show that money arriving quickly and coins being free to withdraw are different things:
- Binance.US lists (opens in a new tab) card, Apple Pay and Google Pay deposits as instant, and ACH bank transfers as usually instant. It also says funds deposited by ACH, debit card or Apple Pay, and any crypto bought with them, carry a 7-day hold before you can withdraw.
- Crypto.com says (opens in a new tab) funds from a US Instant Deposit (a bank deposit option) are available within a few seconds. If you buy crypto with the pending balance, you cannot withdraw or transfer funds out of the app wallets for 7 business days, counted from the day you started the deposit.
- Kraken's deposit page (opens in a new tab) says ACH, PayPal, debit or credit card purchases and digital wallet purchases trigger a temporary 72-hour withdrawal hold, and that US cash deposits through ACH Plaid are held for 7 days. Its tables list no hold for the bank routes in the table below, and some card rows show no hold even though the general note lists card purchases, so check the hold on your own screen. See Kraken withdrawal holds.
The units differ: 7 days is not 7 business days. The Crypto.com pages for standard ACH deposits (opens in a new tab) and card top-ups (opens in a new tab) state no hold, which is not the same as saying there is none.
Crypto.com's pages outside the US did not state a hold. Before you confirm a deposit, find the hold on the deposit screen or in the help center. If you cannot find it in writing, ask support before you deposit.
Card and bank deposit rates by country
As of October 2026, from each platform's own pages for that country (no account opened). The platforms were chosen because their pages publish these details; this is not a recommendation, and one row says nothing about other platforms. Kraken's rows use its single deposit page, which lists the same 3.75% card structure in each currency.
| Country | Platform | Card deposit | Bank deposit | Hold before withdrawing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| US | Binance.US | 3.99% (card, Apple Pay, Google Pay); issuer fees may apply | ACH: no Binance.US fee, usually instant | 7 days for ACH, debit card or Apple Pay funds and coins bought with them |
| US | Crypto.com | 1.49% (US-issued debit cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay) | ACH: no Crypto.com fee. Instant Deposit: within seconds | 7 business days if you buy with a pending Instant Deposit; otherwise not stated |
| US | Kraken | A small fixed fee plus 3.75%, near-instant | ACH (Plaid): no Kraken fee, near-instant | 7 days for ACH (Plaid); 72 hours for card and PayPal purchases |
| UK | Crypto.com | Not stated on the cited page | Faster Payments: no Crypto.com fee; your bank might charge | Not stated on the cited page |
| UK | Kraken | A small fixed fee plus 3.75%, near-instant | Faster Payments: no Kraken fee, 0-1 business days | None listed |
| EU/EEA | Crypto.com Exchange app | Not stated on the cited page | SEPA: no fee from Crypto.com or its European partners | Not stated on the cited page |
| EU/EEA | Kraken | A small fixed fee plus 3.75%, near-instant (EEA) | SEPA and SEPA Instant: no Kraken fee, instant to 3 business days | None listed |
| Canada | Crypto.com | Not stated on the cited page | Interac Standard Transfer: no Crypto.com fee; your bank might charge | Not stated on the cited page |
| Canada | Kraken | A small fixed fee plus 3.75%, near-instant | Interac e-Transfer: no Kraken fee, instant to 1 business day | None listed |
| Australia | CoinSpot | Card: free | PayID and direct deposit: free | Not stated on the cited page |
| Australia | Kraken | A small fixed fee plus 3.75%, near instant | PayID: no Kraken fee, near instant | None listed |
CoinSpot's fee page also lists a 1% Instant Buy fee (0.1% for market orders), whichever way you pay.
The pages behind the table:
- Binance.US: buy page (opens in a new tab)
- Kraken: cash deposit options (opens in a new tab) (all five countries)
- Crypto.com US: card top-up (opens in a new tab), ACH (opens in a new tab) and Instant Deposit (opens in a new tab)
- Crypto.com UK: GBP account set-up (opens in a new tab)
- Crypto.com Exchange app: EUR deposits via SEPA (opens in a new tab)
- Crypto.com Canada: Interac deposits (opens in a new tab)
- CoinSpot: fee page (opens in a new tab)
If you live elsewhere, read your platform's deposit screen and check your country's financial regulator before you deposit. Registration is covered in how to buy crypto step by step.
Limits, declines and disputes
Limits and bank blocks
Limits can differ by method. As of October 2026, Crypto.com's US card top-up (opens in a new tab) has a monthly limit of $10,000, while its Canadian Interac page (opens in a new tab) lists a daily maximum of $25,000 CAD. These are different countries, so read them as examples of different limits, not a comparison.
Your own bank may limit or stop payments. Santander UK's crypto page (opens in a new tab) says that where it can identify them, it limits payments to UK crypto exchanges to £1,000 per transaction and £3,000 in any rolling 30-day period. It adds that where possible it stops payments to Binance. The page lists bank-transfer channels and does not say whether card payments are limited. Read your bank's policy, or ask it, before you deposit.
Disputes
- UK: a chargeback (opens in a new tab) lets you challenge and claw back payments made with a debit or credit card, for problems with goods or services, but chargebacks can fail and a bank or lender does not have to raise one. The same page describes no chargeback route for bank transfers.
- US: the FTC says (opens in a new tab) federal law protects you from unauthorized use of your debit card. If you were tricked into paying a scammer by debit card or bank transfer, it says to report it to your bank immediately and ask for a refund or a reversal. Asking does not guarantee one.
- Crypto you send out: cryptocurrency payments typically are not reversible (opens in a new tab), and in the US they lack the legal protections cards have. Read why a crypto send cannot be charged back for the detail.
- Elsewhere: ask your bank or card issuer what dispute rights apply, and check your financial regulator.
Choosing between a card and a bank transfer
- Small and urgent: a card deposit was listed as instant in the examples above, and the percentage fee on a small amount is a small sum. Check the hold first.
- Larger and planned: a percentage fee grows with the amount, so the percentage card rates in the table cost more on a bigger deposit. Check your limits and your bank's policy on crypto payments.
- Withdrawing soon: compare the holds in when you can buy and when the crypto can leave, not just the fees.
Common mistakes
- Treating "no fee" as free. A free deposit can still meet a trading fee, the spread, or a charge from your bank or card issuer. Check the total on the order screen.
- Treating "instant" as withdrawable. Read the hold before you confirm, as shown in the section on holds.
Risks to understand
- This page covers debit cards. Credit cards are a different product. In the UK, the Section 75 credit-card protection does not apply to debit cards or bank transfers.
- The FTC says (opens in a new tab) scammers ask you to pay in ways that make them hard to track down. Send money only to the details shown inside your logged-in account on the platform's own site or app, and read how to spot crypto buying scams.
- Spend only an amount you can afford to lose, because a payment into crypto may be hard to get back.
Before you pick a method, read how to buy crypto step by step, and see how to choose a crypto exchange for what to check about a platform.
Frequently asked questions
Do Apple Pay and Google Pay count as card payments?
On the two US platforms checked, yes for pricing. As of October 2026, Binance.US lists Apple Pay and Google Pay deposits at the same 3.99% as cards, and Crypto.com lists them at the same 1.49% as US-issued debit cards. Binance.US also puts Apple Pay in the same 7-day hold as card and ACH deposits. On another platform, read the fee page and the deposit screen for the wallet you plan to use.
Why did my card payment go through while my bank transfer is still pending?
Open the deposit history in your account and read the status of the transfer. Do not send it again or place a second deposit, which can leave you paying twice. As of October 2026, Crypto.com says that if your bank supports SEPA Instant, a EUR deposit to its Exchange app is processed in a few minutes, and a first deposit from a new bank account may take longer if it needs extra verification. For any other platform, look for the expected arrival time on the deposit screen, and ask support if the transfer is still pending after that time.
What is the smallest deposit I can make?
Look for the minimum on the deposit screen or the platform's help page before you pick a method, because each method can have its own minimum. As of October 2026, for example, Crypto.com's US card top-up page sets $10 per transaction, its Exchange app sets €1 for SEPA deposits, and its Canadian Interac page sets $20 CAD. These are deposit minimums, not purchase minimums.
Sources
- Cash deposit options (fees, minimums and processing times), Kraken (Payward). Accessed .
- How to Buy Cryptocurrency, Binance.US (BAM Trading Services Inc.). Accessed .
- Top up to USD Account via Debit Card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, Crypto.com. Accessed .
- USD Deposits via ACH Bank Transfer, Crypto.com. Accessed .
- USD Deposits via Instant Deposit, Crypto.com. Accessed .
- Set up GBP Account, Crypto.com. Accessed .
- Retail Users | EUR Fiat Deposit and Withdrawal via SEPA (Exchange App), Crypto.com. Accessed .
- CAD Deposit via Interac Standard Transfer, Crypto.com. Accessed .
- CoinSpot Fees, CoinSpot. Accessed .
- Cryptocurrency | Santander UK, Santander UK. Accessed .
- What To Do if You Were Scammed, Federal Trade Commission. Accessed .
- What To Know About Cryptocurrency and Scams, Federal Trade Commission. Accessed .
- Problems with goods and services bought using a debit card or credit (Section 75 and chargeback), Financial Ombudsman Service (UK). Accessed .
This guide was researched and written with AI using the sources above. It is general information, not financial advice. Cryptoassets are volatile and you could lose the money you invest. Check the rules in your country before you buy. Some links on this site may be affiliate links; they never change what we write. Spotted an error? Email contact@how2buycrypto.org.